Jambo

Hey guys!! First of all, I would like to personally welcome you to our website. It has been a neat experience for me to do this website. This is a new venture for me, so if you see anything in it that might need changing or revising, please fill free to let me know. Another thing that is new to me is blogging. So anyway, here we go.

Well, I guess many of you are wondering what got us to the point today. Let me tell you. There are two people or two couples that inspired Tywonn and me to take to this leap of faith. The first couple we had dinner with last night. They are about our same age, but unlike us, they have a young daughter. We have known this couple for about five years. We found out last May that they had decided to move to the Dominican Republic in the summer of 2007. I was both excited for them and awestruck by this drastic move. I guess the thing that inspired me the most was that they were about to take a huge leap of faith, going against what they thought they would be doing for their life. The other couple that inspired us was our current pastor. Pastor Tommy had recently graduated from a seminary in California, and he and his wife and kids had decided to come back to Orlando, Florida to begin to look for job. They decided to move back to Orlando because they felt like God had called them back here. When I heard about their story from the selection committee who was interviewing Pastor Tommy, I was moved. There was very little here for them, but they were obedient to what God was saying.

As many of you know, I’m a counselor by education and trade. But I also consider myself a novice sociologist. That is, I like to look at how one person’s move affects others’ lives. The lives of these two above couples and their families have affected Tywonn and me profoundly. So profoundly so that God used these couples to inspire us. We believe that God has called us to Africa for this time. This trip coming up in May will go a long way to determining what Tywonn and I do in the future. But we are going over there, knowing that since God has sent us he will also show us what to do. We are excited, but nervous about this new step for us. Pray for us as we pray for you. Think about us as we think about you.

I would like to think after seven years of college study that these blogs will have something profound to say. But I don’t think you’ll find anything earth shattering here, at least from meJ What I hope you find in these blogs that Tywonn and I write is our heart to serve others. It is our hope that this website and our blogs will serve to keep us in contact with you. Isn’t it neat that God has chosen you and me to serve others. Wow!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Jambo

Leave a Reply

