Nursing in Africa

I am very excited about the opportunities that the website opens up, such as the ability to communicate with you frequently. If you received the latest Davidson newsletter, you know about the opportunities that are available to Alan. I want to tell you about some of the opportunities that are available to me in Kenya as a nurse. First of all, there is a hospital called AIC (Africa Inland Church) Kijabe Hospital located near Rift Valley Academy, the boarding school where Alan may use his counseling skills. More specifically, it is in Kijabe about an hour North-west of the capital, Nairobi. This Christian mission hospital has over 200 beds. The services offered to the public include general surgery, medicine for both adults and pediatrics, obstetrics, gynecology, neonatology (newborns), specialty clinics in diabetes, orthopedics, ophthalmology (eyes), tuberculosis, and AIDS. The clinical support services are X-ray, ultrasound, pharmacy, physical therapy, and a laboratory. The pathology department provides tissue diagnostics to 37 mission hospitals in East Africa. Needless to say, this facility, in African terms, is a large hospital that offers a wide array of services to the African people. It keeps the cost to the patient low through several avenues, including the donated services of missionaries such as myself. Personally, I have over 3 years of experience in surgery and would be thrilled to donate my time and energy to the hospital. You can read more information about AIC Kijabe Hospital located under “Links” and “Nursing”.

In addition, I was elated when I discovered that the hospital has a nursing school adjacent to it called Kijabe School of Nursing. It offers a diploma in nursing which is what many of the older registered nurses in the United States have. There are approximately 70 African students currently enrolled in the program. The reason that I was so excited when I learned about the school is because I have a passion for teaching. In addition, I believe that Africans should be trained so that there comes a point when they are self-sufficient and no longer need to rely on missionaries. You can read a little about the Kijabe School of Nursing under “Links” and “Nursing”.

I am looking forward to our trip to Kenya, Africa in May. I especially can’t wait to meet the people from the hospital and school with whom I have been communicating by e-mail. It is always nice to put a face with the name. Please pray for me that God will reveal how and where my knowledge and skills in nursing can be made useful to the African people whom I desire to serve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment