The Forgotten Beach

For the people that work at Patrick Air Force Base the beach is not forgotten. For the people who eat at Da Kine Diegos the beach is not forgotten. For the people who surf the waters off the beach, it is not forgotten. However, for most of the other millions of people who live in Florida, Satellite Beach is the forgotten beach. At least that’s the moniker that I’m giving to it.

When we returned from North Carolina about two years ago, I had to find a beach since we did not live within a reasonable distance to Clearwater Beach. I had been to New Smyrna Beach, just south of Daytona Beach, and really liked it because a person could drive their car onto the beach. But it seemed like a long drive from where we lived. Then I thought about Cocoa Beach and quickly dismissed it because living right next to Disney the last thing I wanted to do was be near more tourists. That is when I discovered Satellite Beach, which is about 10 minutes south of Cocoa Beach on A1A.

I have given Satellite Beach its Forgotten Beach label because that is what it reminded me of the first time I went. It looked deserted, like one of those old western movies, except there wasn’t any tumbleweed rolling on the beach. I could count the number of people on the beach with my hands and feet. This discovery was shocking to me as this beach is nestled between two large tourist towns of Cocoa and Melbourne. But their loss is my gain, as I don’t like tourists running around kicking sand on me anyway.

The reasons for liking Satellite Beach, other than its secluded feel, are multifarious. First, the waves are pretty nice if you like any kind of surfing—board, body, or wind. The waves usually average about 3-4 feet and get much higher when there is a hurricane. Secondly, there are some great restaurants that one can only find on the beach—Longdoggers, Goombays, and Da Kine Diegos. My personal favorite is Longdoggers, because the food is good and shirt and shoes are not required. Finally, the people are super nice. Living in Orlando has the feel of living up North (forgive me if I offend anyone up North), so finding town where the atmosphere is cordial and laidback is almost like going to heaven.

So if you’re ever in the mood to get away from it all, make a trek to Satellite Beach, it’s only about an hour and a half from Orlando. No—Stop. You can’t all go over there at once because that would kill the cocooned feel. One at a time, people. One at a time.

by Alan

5 Comments

Filed under Beach, Da Kine Diegos, Goombays, Longdogger, Satellite Beach

5 responses to “The Forgotten Beach

  1. kd

    I’ll have to go try those restaurants. Crescent Beach was even a little crowded for my liking on Saturday – but is was gorgeous though. I’d much rather go there than St. Aug beach – driving it is well worth it!

  2. Alvie L. Davidson

    I have lived in FL all my life and have never been to the beaches in Brevard County. I guess that might be attributed to the fact I live too close to the Gulf coast beaches.

    Those dining places sound super. MMmmm..maybe we can visit some day.

  3. Alvie L. Davidson

    I have lived in FL all my life and have never been to the beaches in Brevard County. I guess that might be attributed to the fact I live too close to the Gulf coast beaches.

    Those dining places sound super. MMmmm..maybe we can visit some day.

  4. Anonymous

    LAYING BY THE BEACH SOUNDS WOUNDERFUL IM HERE IN NY GIVE IT ITS IN 80 90 DEGREES NO BEACH.JUST HEREING YOU DESCRIBE IT MAKES ME FEAL LIKE I’M THERE WITH YOU WE HAVE ASMALLBEACH YOU GET TEN PEOPLE ON IT IT’S CROWDED THEN IT THE ROCKY BEACH NO OCEAN LAKE ERIEIT’S OK AVERY NICE DAY YOU CAN SEE CANADATHANKS FOR EVERYTHING HAVEANISE DAY.

  5. Anonymous

    LAYING BY THE BEACH SOUNDS WUNDERFUL IM HERE IN NY GIVE IT ITS IN 80 90 DEGREES NO BEACH.JUST HEREING YOU DESCRIBE IT MAKES ME FEAL LIKE I’M THERE WITH YOU WE HAVE ASMALLBEACH YOU GET TEN PEOPLE ON IT IT’S CROWDED THEN IT THE ROCKY BEACH NO OCEAN. LAKE ERIE IT’S OK A VERY NICE DAY YOU CAN SEE CANADA THANKS FOR EVERYTHING HAVE A NICE DAY.

Leave a Reply

