Occupation With A Purpose

This is an exciting moment that you are taking part in right now. This is my first stint as a guest blogger. I am, as I’m sure you are, an avid reader of Alan and Tywonn’s blog. I have enjoyed their journey and their perspective that they have shared with us. I feel like a celebrity guest-host on Regis and Kelly. My gift basket was almost as nice. I don’t know if you have ever read about yourself in someone else’s blog before, but it has been slightly surreal to read about myself in Alan’s blogs.

As you have read — or if you haven’t check the archives, or just click in that fancy cloud widget on the right – Melissa, our daughter Kate, and I serve as missionaries on the North Coast of the Dominican Republic. It has been great having Alan, Steve, and Becky visit us for the past several days. We have known the Weldon’s and the Davidsons for more than six years. They knew us before Kate was born, and we knew the Davidsons before they were the Davidsons. In fact Kate was 18 months old at their wedding ceremony. Unlike Alan and Tywonn, Melissa and I did not believe that our journey was leading us to the mission field. In fact, it took us by surprise. I recently completed two Master Degrees, one in Social Work and the other in Health Administration. My assumption when I started my convoluted degree plan was that I was preparing my resume for a specialty profession in Behavioral Healthcare Administration. However, in hindsight it has been a perfect combination for administration of the Community Health Center in the Dominican Republic.

I am still trying to become comfortable with the title, missionary. I was reading Alan’s blog about “Vacations with a Purpose” as a new term for the short-term mission trip. I believe that I simply have an Occupation with a Purpose. I stepped away from working at a job for a paycheck and grabbed a hold of this great opportunity to do something I enjoy, in a place we love, for people that have very few options, if any, to receive the services the Health Center will provide. I know that the things we do will have a great impact on the lives of the people that we work with everyday. It has been wonderful share our journey with Steve, Becky, and Alan, people that know us, and people who don’t let the missionary title cloud over who we are. We would love to share our journey with you as well. If you interested in learning more about us click over to the beginning stages of our website and spend some time with us. I’d also encourage you to take a look around you today, because if you are looking for more of that purpose in your life, I am sure there is an opportunity for you to grab hold of, you won’t regret it. I know what a difference it has made for us.

PS – Alan lost his luggage again. Alan, why haven’t we seen anything about that in your blog yet?

John Hanley

Leave a comment

Filed under alan, Blog, Dominican Republic, guest blog, John, luggage, Occupation, Tywonn, website

Leave a Reply

