Where is Home?

HomeTywonn and I sold everything almost three months ago and began what is a long trek culminating in the undulating tropical hills of Cameroon.  I thought that when we embarked that it would be easy since we had less.  Easier to travel; Easier to unpack; Easier to pack; just all around easier.  Man, was I ever wrong.  This traveling with and living out of a suitcase is tough, to put it mildly.  It does two things to you: It makes you not spread out far when you unpack and cherish everything you have.

Someone asked me the other day where did I live.  I think they meant where was home.  Honestly I don’t know.  That question burned for a while causing me to think about all the places we’ve lived, all the wonderful people we’ve stayed with.  Here’s the journey since January 1st: Lakeland, FL to Mooresville, NC to Waxhaw, NC back to Mooresville to Volney, VA to Cullman, AL to Lakeland to Sanford, FL to Clermont, FL to Windermere, FL.  That is where we are now.  But looking to the future our path is as clear as Lipton tea in a mason jar.  From Windermere, we’ll head back to Lakeland, then split up and I’ll come back to Orlando, FL while Tywonn goes to Oley, PA.  We’ll come back together in Lakeland only to go to Suwannee, FL and then back to Lakeland and finally Accra, Ghana.

That makes me tired just writing it.  So, again where is home?  Who knows.  Remember that thing about me cherishing what I have.  Maybe home is where my french press and coffee cup is.  Right now that’s about all I have to hang my hat on.  What do ya’ll think?  Where is home?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Where is Home?

  1. Charlene Canada

    From someone who has asked the same question in the last year, home is where my spouse and I are hanging our hats (or our coffee cups) at this moment. For us, it has become more of a “who” question than a “where” question. If God has us here, then this is home. At least for today.

    Ask me again in another year and see if I have the same answer, ok? 🙂

  2. Beth Roberts

    Wow! That is where we are headed. We have just started selling everything on craigslist & amazon.com. We are putting our house on the market anyday now. Please pray that we get a buyer. We only need 1. I’m not sure what the definition of ‘home’ is but I think I’m going to experience the loss and finding of ‘HOME’.

  3. Myra

    For me home is people, not places. We are all just visitors on this planet anyway, right? I tend to get “homesick” when I think of the people I miss …

  4. Home is not a place. It’s a state of mind.

Leave a Reply

