Nigerian Déjà Vu

Written on November 11, 2009

One of the nights during the crisis workshop a few of the participants watched Déjà Vu starring Denzel Washington.  This movie spurred some thoughts about other déjà vu-like experiences that happened this week facilitating the workshop.

The first experience was a man that was a not a part of the workshop, but stayed at the same facility at which we lodged.  When he drove up I thought I recognized him and a little later my suspicions were confirmed.  He was a Bible translator who taught us during our Wycliffe training a little over two years ago.  I find it continually amazing to meet people in different contexts, different worlds.

The second wasn’t so much a déjà vu experience as it was a figuring out that a workshop participant and I were in the same place at the same time in 1999 (I didn’t try to make that rhyme, if you’re wondering).  She was a worker with New Missions in Haiti in 1999 and probably facilitated our youth team that a friend and I led.  This was also the place that Tywonn and I met.  Very confounding, amazing, and interesting.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Nigerian Déjà Vu

  1. Christie

    I have to dig out those old photos to see if you’re hanging around in them!

    -Christie

Leave a Reply

