How Deceptive Am I?

This past weekend we had the joy of worshipping with our church in Orlando.  Part of the service was reading a corporate prayer.  Some might call it liturgical.  This past weekend I called it a gut check.  Here’s the prayer from Richard Foster:

With bitterness and true compunction of heart I acknowledge before Thee gross and selfish thoughts that I so often allow to enter my mind and to influence my deeds.  I confess, O God-

  • …that I often deceive myself as to where my plain duty lies;
  • …that often, by concealing my real motives, I pretend to be better than I am;
  • …that often my affection for my friends is only a refined form of caring for myself;
  • …that often my sparing of my enemy is due to nothing more than cowardice.

O holy One, let the fire of Thy love enter my heart, and burn up all this coil of meanness and hypocrisy, and make my heart as the heart of a little child.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “How Deceptive Am I?

  1. Charlene

    Appreciated this prayer this morning, Alan. Thanks.
    Charlene

  2. ruthhubbard

    I intended to “find” this after Sunday morning’s gut check/liturgy and then got distracted. Thanks.

  3. ruthhubbard

    Oh, Alan — I’m glad you got the memo that it’s all about me. 🙂 So…I Tweeted your blog with comment and Vernon Rainwater messaged me that the newspaper mis-identified the author as Foster. It is really John Baillie.

Leave a Reply

