Ghana, Here I Come!

Ok, so the cat’s out of the bag.  I’m going back to Ghana!!

I am so looking forward to my trip back to Ghana in October.  Although all of the details are not yet worked out, I have made some preliminary plans.  Unfortunately, I will be traveling alone because of Alan’s responsibilities at work.  My travels start on October 12th, and I’ll return home on the 22nd.  I’ll spend nearly all of my time helping at Beacon House orphanage.  This is the same orphanage where I helped while living in Accra.  It is run by an Italian American woman who is also a missionary.  There are 30+ children living there at any given time ranging in age from a few months old to about 14 years old.  I’ll be staying in a room in the baby house, where it’ll probably be a little noisy.  I’ve also been informed that I’ll have to take bucket baths (a very common thing for the average Ghanaian).  Friday night I’ve booked a room at the SIM Guesthouse (the same guesthouse that I managed while living in Accra) so I can go to the Dzorwulu Keep Fit Club at 6 a.m. on Saturday morning to visit with many of my Ghanaian friends.

When talking with a friend recently about this trip, she thought I would be scared.  I’m not afraid to make this trip alone because Accra is the place I lived in and loved for 8 months.  It would probably be a different story if I was going to a new country, but I already know the culture and how to get around.  In addition, I spent 6 weeks of those 8 months alone (well, without Alan in the same country) when I lived there.  I know what’s expected of me within the culture.  Things can’t have changed that much in the 10 months I was away.  😉

I’ll be posting every few weeks as the time gets closer to depart.  Please keep me in your thoughts and prayers.

Tywonn

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Ghana, Here I Come!

  1. Mandy

    Tywonn, I am sooooo excited for you! I know your heart is with the people of Ghana and that you can’t wait to serve them and see your Ghanaian family again. Look forward to hearing more : )

  2. Thanks for your encouragement, Mandy. 🙂

  3. Dianne Davidson

    I wish I had your courage! I think you will be needing a spa day when you return so be looking forward to that. If there is anything that you would like to give to the orphanage let me know and I can purchase it – candy, small items, etc. Something that will fit in your suitcase!

  4. Hmm. It sounds like a great idea. I’ll have to think about what little gift I’d like to take for the kids. I’ll let you know. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

