Din Din at the Davidsons


Can you believe that this Thursday is Thanksgiving already? I can hardly believe that it is already here. Thanksgiving is a wonderful time of year. It means that family gets together, and we eat a big, delicious meal. It also means that my birthday is just around the corner.

How do you normally celebrate Thanksgiving? My mom would always roast the turkey, make stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, corn, green beans, rolls, baked pies, and provide some other food, too. My parents, brothers and sisters, and I would gather around the table to eat a late lunch around 1 or 2pm. Some years we would get together with the extended family. The leftovers could be eaten the rest of the day and for many days afterwards.

Alan’s family tradition varies a little. The Southern comes out in dishes like black-eyed peas and pecan pies. It was a little hard for me when I learned that his family (parents, siblings, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins) eats at noon and then watches football the rest of the day.

Alan and I have formed one of our own Thanksgiving traditions: we fry the turkey. Now, for those of you out there who haven’t tried it, we think it’s the best way to eat it. Cooking the bird takes less than an hour and leaves the oven free. Most importantly, the meat is moist and full of flavor from the spices rubbed on the skin. It’s like fried chicken, another Southern specialty. Because Alan prepares the turkey, I am able to focus my attentions on all the other dishes, too.

This year, unlike most, a lot of the extended family will either be out of town or out of state. We will have a small gathering of only 4, consisting of only our family and my uncle’s. I wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving and that we can all find some things for which to be thankful.

Tywonn

3 Comments

Filed under alan, family, food, Southern, Thanksgiving, tradition, Turkey, Tywonn

3 responses to “Din Din at the Davidsons

  1. Alvie L. Davidson CG

    Sounds like you and Alan will have the best of the best for Thanksgiving. That extended family will be in Myrtle Beach, SC and will have a good pig-out somewhere in that location. The evening will be spent attending a bluegrass concert with some of our favorite singers and performers, such as Ralph Stanley and the Clinch Mountain Boys, IIIrd Tyme Out, the Osborne Brothers, and others.
    We will rise early on Friday morning and head toward Louisville where will arrive on Saturday afternoon. We will be driving a 16 foot rented van towing a car. Like took a strange twist this year for Thanksgiving.
    Hope all has a good time and not get too stuffed.

  2. Alvie L. Davidson CG

    Hey Alan,
    I saw those photos you took in Indiana…super..One never knows the beauty of God’s creation until you get a closeup view of items as small as a berry hanging on a plant amidst thorns.
    Thanks for sharing….

  3. kd

    ok, so I don’t know if Ty is dogging football or eating at noon.
    I enjoyed my time this year with a new family – we ate at 4 and cooked and ate while we watched football. You didn’t have to get up so early!
    I miss the fried turkey though!

Leave a comment